The strong fall too. But we forget that.

5075461673_607972d2d9_q

I am in my early twenties, at the peak of my youth, at the phase whereby I should go all wanderlust and travel or pig out in cafes or be a social media sensation or a top achiever in college. Let me tell you, in all honesty, I am nothing like that. I am an average college girl, just like any female you walk past without noticing on the street, or that quiet girl in the corner which won’t catch your eye. While I do have some minor achievements, I pride myself for being an independent and strong lady. I am self sufficient, I work to pay for my expenses, with as minimal help from my doting parents, I took up a study loan from the bank because I want my parents to not have to wait for me to repay them; I want them to enjoy life without financial worries. So, here I am, an average girl with average looks and average grades,holding a part time job on weekdays and Sundays while juggling a full time university education. I cannot be travelling around the world, fulfilling my wanderlust dreams without a care or going cafe-hopping everyday or joining pageants to be famous. I have my burdens, fears and many more typical-average-human worries attached to me which, on a normal day, are handled seemingly well enough.

But the strong fall too. I also have days where I succumb under pressure and cry myself to sleep, days where I begin to feel less about myself, days where I feel that everything is going to crumble down on me, days where my pressures eat me up and even silly moments where I just want to give up on everything. People forget the strong fall too. “Get up”, they say. ” Rise to the occasion”, “It’s not that bad”, they claim. No. That isn’t what I want to hear. I have my weak moments too; we all do. All I want is someone or people to listen to my inner fears and worries, to let me rant, cry, whine without feeling irritated at me, to understand that I have fallen temporarily but should not be agitated to get up on my feet on the spot, to shower attention on me and just be there.

Everyone falls but usually, people forget that the strong will fall too and when they fall, they fall as hard too.

Leave a Reply

